Saturday, April 6, 2013

Nick Wiz - Cellar Selections 2LP (1993-1997) [GRR008]

I'm excited to announce the latest vinyl release on GRR: Nick Wiz's "Cellar Selections 2" 2LP.  Hopefully most of you would familiar with Nick Wiz for his extensive and consistently dope 90's work with artists including the Cella Dwellas, Rakim, Shabaam Sahdeeq, Ran Reed, Chubb Rock etc.  Over the past couple of years, No Sleep Recordings has released three double CD's from Nick's archives containing material that had, for the most part, never been heard before.  While a 2LP containing some of these songs ("Cellar Selections 1") was released back in 2010, no further vinyl instalments seemed to be forthcoming.  Fortunately, I recently connected with No Sleep to make another 2LP release possible, containing 20 tracks taken primarily from the 1993 - 1997 period, containing songs from luminaries such as Cella Dwellas, Rakim, Pudgee, Ran Reed, Shadowz in da Dark and Emskee alongside underground favourites such as Hardwe're, Ill Mentality, Imperial, Native Assassins and more.  This is the first time that any of these songs have been on wax.

This record is limited to 250 copies on 2LP black vinyl with a sticker cover.  The price is $40 + postage for 1 copy or $75 + postage for 2 copies.  This isn't a pre-order - the records are pressed and are ready to be shipped to you from the US.

The record can be ordered from:

Here's the tracklist:

1. Hardwe're - The Bricks (1994)
2. LSD - Rowdy at the Party (1994)
3. Tross - Still Low (1994)
4. Ran Reed - Whutcha Want (1994)
5. Shadowz in da Dark - 11:45 (1995)
6. Ill Mentality - So Amazing (1995)
7. 195 - It's a Hit (1997)
8. Ran Reed - That Ain't Right (1997)
9. Pudgee - Your Girl (1994)
10. Native Assassins - Natives are Restless (1993)
11. Ran Reed - Top Choice (1995)
12. Emskee - How I Get Down (1994)
13. Shabaam Sahdeeq - Styles Upon Styles (1995)
14. Imperial - Sho Ya Right (1994)
15. Shadowz in da Dark - Untold Scrolls (1994)
16. Rakim - Milk & Honey (2000)
17. Nautilus - Smooth With Mine (1994)
18. Ran Reed - Deep Into the Text (1996)
19. Miilkbone - This One or That One (1993)
20. Cella Dwellas - Good Dwellas (Unreleased Remix) (1995)

Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any questions about ordering.  As always, thanks to everyone who supports the release

Special thanks to DL and No Sleep Recordings for making this one possible, and of course thanks to Nick Wiz and all the artists involved on the record.


  1. ordered ! i was waiting for this release on vinyl .... thanx

  2. Replies
    1. Sorry for the late reply. This won't be re-pressed sorry - but keep checking the blog as there may be another Nick Wiz record in the future. Thanks!